My Inner Martha Stewart

When we started this show 12 years ago, I really wanted to celebrate hand pulled prints, because in the age of easy computer generated reproductions, people were losing sight of the beauty of real prints, printed one at a time, by hand.

Coolagraph printed mulberry paper with printed leaf overlay/ Anne Belov

Coolagraph printed mulberry paper with printed leaf overlay/ Anne Belov

One of the by-products of creating prints by hand is experimentation. And like most printmakers I know, you go through a lot of paper and ink in figuring out just how you want to get a certain effect, or, in fact, one that is a complete surprise to you. There is an element of play in the enterprise which I have always found to be a worthwhile activity.

But then what do you do with all these experiments? And sometimes there are A LOT of experiments. Well, you make cards.

An assortment of cards/ Anne Belov

An assortment of cards/ Anne Belov

What with email and paying bills by mail, you might think you’d never need to go to the post office again. But I think there is still a place in the world for beautiful things. And who doesn’t like to get a handwritten note in the mail from a friend, and how much more wonderful would it be, if the card you get is a one of a kind piece of art?

Huzzah! Lots of cards!/ Anne Belov

Huzzah! Lots of cards!/ Anne Belov

I spent the last couple of days making cards from my considerable store of hand printed papers and made a pretty good dent in the supply. The artist in me loves creating beautiful things, and then bundling them up in lovely packages. Supplies are limited, and each bundle of cards is unique, so come early for the best selection. I am hoping that a few other of the printmakers in the show will have cards as well.

Even piling them up to take photos is fun. Anne Belov

Even piling them up to take photos is fun.
Anne Belov

Hope to see you at the show! Four weeks and counting!

The Froggwell Biennale

Friday-Saturday-Sunday 10 AM to 5PM
August 5th, 6th, & 7th.
At the Legendary Froggwell Garden
5508 Double Bluff Road
Freeland WA

About The Head Woozle

Making pictures and telling stories are my reason to be. Oh, and pandas and cake.
This entry was posted in Individual Artists, stuff we like and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Inner Martha Stewart

  1. Vicky V says:

    Those cards are stunning! How fabulous to get a beautiful work of art as a card 🙂
    My artistry is in photography so I love to create a special photo card for special events. My niece just gave birth to her first child today – a daughter! The card I made for them is a collage featuring her favourite stuffed toy, her partner’s favourite stuffed toy and the stuffed toy I bought for the new arrival – a panda!

    • Thank you! There is something really wonderful about doing what I call “low stakes creations.” I am really just playing, but sometimes what I discover in my play time circles back around into my serious artwork, so I guess it is not low stakes after all.
      Congrats on your niece’s first child. Glad you are teaching her the way of the panda.
      :o)

What do you think?...No, Really.

