Artist Spotlight: Anne Belov

Hey! That’s me…chief perpetrator of The Froggwell Biennale. Way back in 2004 I mentioned to The Froggwellian, wouldn’t it be cool to hold a show that focused on printmaking? And since we have such a marvelous setting in the garden, maybe invite some sculptors to show as well?

The garden is waiting.....

The garden is waiting…..

And so we did, and 12 years later, the show is still going strong. But in addition to leading this talented group of artists, of course I do my own work and sometimes, I even have time to create some new work for the show. I…um…am still hoping to do that this year.

All in a Day's Work/ Egg Tempera and Oil/ Anne Belov (c) 2015

All in a Day’s Work/ Egg Tempera and Oil/ Anne Belov (c) 2015

But I have not been idle this past winter. I just finished some new paintings for my upcoming show at The Rob Schouten Gallery which opens on Friday, August 5th. (and yes, I know that it is the first day of this show!) I also recently began exhibiting at The FountainHead Gallery in the Queen Anne Hill neighborhood in Seattle. I am thrilled to be part of this gallery family, which has now been in business for 20 years. I will be exhibiting the original drawings from my wordless picture book, Pandamorphosis, in November.

Pandamorphosis: What would you wish for?

Pandamorphosis: What would you wish for?

In addition to painting, I am continuing in my quest to be the reigning queen of Panda Satire and continue to post two new cartoons each week on my blog The Panda Chronicles. Last year I applied to and was accepted in a mentorship program created by the Nevada chapter of SCBWI (Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators). SCBWI is the premier group dedicated to children’s literature, and if you even thought you’d want to be involved in writing or illustrating for children, this group is a must join!

Anyway, one of my longer cartoon stories kept trying to get my attention and told me it wanted to be a graphic novel. (Which is a novel told in words and pictures.) So I applied to the Nevada program with the idea of developing the story of Inspector Panda, his clever assistant Wu, and the villainous Babette de Panda in the race to find a missing impressionist painting, into a full length graphic novel.

Arrangement in Black, White, and Gray; attributed to James McNeill Whistler. Oil on panel copyright A. Belov 2012

Arrangement in Black, White, and Gray; attributed to James McNeill Whistler. Oil on panel copyright A. Belov 2012

This painting is currently being exhibited at the Washington Convention Center as part of the SCBWI-WWA illustrators exhibit. The show runs through September 30th, 2016.

I am so pleased to report, that after completing my work in the mentor program this April, my mentor, Gordon Warnock of Fuse Literary, is now my agent. I have a bit more work to do before we are ready to start submitting the manuscript to publishers, but I plan to be ready this fall, so stay tuned!

Well, we have a few more artists to profile this month before the show starts in less than five weeks! We hope to see you there!

What I Remember //Oil over Egg Tempera // Anne Belov // all rights reserved

What I Remember //Oil over Egg Tempera // Anne Belov // all rights reserved

The Froggwell Biennale
Friday-Saturday-Sunday 10 AM to 5PM
August 5th, 6th, & 7th.
At the Legendary Froggwell Garden
5508 Double Bluff Road
Freeland WA

About The Head Woozle

Making pictures and telling stories are my reason to be. Oh, and pandas and cake.
This entry was posted in Artist news, Individual Artists and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Artist Spotlight: Anne Belov

  1. Wow. When do you ever find time to sleep, Anne? I’m not sure which I love more – the serious work or the pandas (Yes, Bob T, I know that’s “serious” too, but I was just trying to distinguish between the two kinds of art. Sheesh). Anyway, all of your work is simply awesome.

    • The question is more like: when do find time to do housework. Hahahahahaha! Something has to give right? Who needs to clean the house every…um…week. Or something like that.
      Thank you for being so supportive of all my creative efforts! I think they feed different parts of my impulse to create.

  2. Vicky V says:

    I love all your work but have a real soft spot for your pandas – especially when they feature in famous artworks!
    Can’t wait for the Inspector Panda book 🙂

  3. You’re one busy lady, Anne. Wonderful artwork, particularly the Pandas and congratulations on your acceptance to the mentorship program of the Nevada chapter of SCBWI (Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators).

What do you think?...No, Really.

