More from Froggwell Biennale 2016

We have such a stellar group of artists living on Whidbey. Painters, sculptors, printmakers, and bookmakers. No, no, not bookies. People who make beautiful books! I used to be afraid of using the gorgeous hand made books I’ve bought over the years, but I got over that a few years ago, and I’m so glad I did! I’m quite sure that the things I write and draw are all the more brilliant and profound, because they are in such a beautiful book.

The handcrafted book is an old art form. Yes, you can buy all sorts of blank journals today for fairly inexpensive prices, but they don’t have the same feeling of a handcrafted book. One of the things I love about these books is the type of binding allows the book to lie flat when open, making it easy to draw in them when you are traveling. (Not always the case in a mass produced sketchbook.)

We actually have two folks bringing their handmade books to Froggwell: Suzanne Schlicke, who named her books “Dog Eared Books” and painter/printmaker Bridget Fischer. Today I want to share some of Suzanne’s books.

Books By Dog Eared Books

Books By Dog Eared Books

Books By Dog Eared Books

Books By Dog Eared Books

Photo album: Books By Dog Eared Books

Photo album: Books By Dog Eared Books

Wasp: Books By Dog Eared Books

Wasp: Books By Dog Eared Books

Books By Dog Eared Books

Books By Dog Eared Books

Spokes: Books By Dog Eared Books

Spokes: Books By Dog Eared Books

Hope to see you at the show this year! But for best selection on these one of a kind books, get there early! Of course, you can’t get there earlier than me, but take heart. I can’t buy them all!

 

About The Head Woozle

Making pictures and telling stories are my reason to be. Oh, and pandas and cake.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?...No, Really.

