The wonders of BIMPE… and I’m not really late, I’m right on schedule.

Well, here we are, just a month after the fabulous Froggwell 2012 Biennale!  I wanted to take this opportunity to thank you all again for visiting the show or checking in on the blog.  While the Biennale doesn’t happen again for another 2 years, that doesn’t mean that art comes to a screeching halt here on Whidbey Island or anywhere else for that matter.

Forty shades of Blue //Anne Belov //oil on panel // all rights reserved

My plan for this blog is to keep posting, at least once a month, or more often if something comes to mind.  The post will mostly be about the artists that take part in the Biennale, but also about other things that I think may interest our readers.

One of our artists, sculptor Sue Taves, started a blog with several art minded friends called Whidbey Art Source.  It has evolved from a social media site for visual artists to something much more useful not only to artists, but for art lovers, music lovers, food lovers, and really, lovers of all things cultural and creative. If you live here, or near here, or want to visit here, this is the place to go for cultural information, as well as links to the more practical things like: where will I stay, and what will I eat, once I get here?  Writer Patricia Duff contributes a wonderful twice weekly column called Duff and Stuff, and you can subscribe!  For free!  How cool is that?

Taves at work, carving dry stone.

The other thing I plan to do here is write about other artists and shows that support the same things that we do here.  If you are a printmaker or sculptor and you want to let me know about an artist or show that might interest us, send it in a comment with a link and I promise I will check it out (sooner or later.)

Here’s the first show I discovered that I wanted to write about:

BIMPE…what is it, when it’s at home?  Actually, the correct name is BIMPE VII, if you really must know. BIMPE is the Biennial International Miniature Printmaking Exhibition which we just happened to stumble into, almost literally, this past week while visiting Vancouver.

Renewal // etching // Gail Gwinn // all rights reserved

Here’s the great thing about juried exhibitions that are organized by artists (well at least by organized artists): They are designed by their very nature to be “artist friendly” meaning that they don’t cost an arm and a leg to participate in.  I’m not saying that there are no costs.  I imagine that there is an entry fee, because there is time and costs involved in putting on any show.  But these things mean that the cost to the participating artists are minimal, and that the likelihood of selling the work in the show are higher:

1. The prints must be small enough to fit in an 8″x10″ glass and clips frame, that the folks at New Leaf Editions have provided.  That means that artists can, from all over the world, put their prints in a 9″x12″ envelope (with cardboard, of course!) and mail the prints by regular post.  Fairly cheap, even from Australia!

2.  The prints are to be sent unframed. (see #1.) No framing cost to artist, no framed shipping cost ($$$) to artists.

3. The prints are miniatures, and priced accordingly, which means that they are very attractive to purchasers, and especially purchasers who are traveling themselves. Like us.  We bought 3 and the show wasn’t officially even open yet.  If you happen to be traveling to Vancouver this month, check New Leaf’s website and visit the show on Granville Island!

More About ME!

I also wanted to take this opportunity to let you know that I have a show opening tonight at the Scott Milo Gallery in Anacortes WA.

Where You’ll Find Me, Now //Anne Belov // Oil on Linen // 26″x32″ $5600 // all rights reserved

And last, but hardly least, I have a Kickstarter project with just about 12 days to go and it needs YOU!  I hope you’ll check it out!

About Bob T Panda

I am just your average talking panda. I enjoy bamboo, sleeping... oh, did I say I enjoy bamboo? what about sleeping. And of course, don't forget the cuppycakes!
This entry was posted in Artist news, stuff we like, Welcome to Froggwell and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?...No, Really.

