Among our guest artists this year….

When I started the Froggwell Biennale back in 2004, I knew several things.  The first was that I really wanted to develop a show that focused on hand pulled printmaking methods. The other thing was that I didn’t want the show to get so large that I couldn’t manage it without getting so overwhelmed and annoyed that I wanted to rip people’s heads off.  At the same time I knew that having the exact same artist roster year after year could get boring.  So, I came up with the idea of having several guest artists each year, in addition to the “Froggwell regulars.”  Several of the guest artists have become permanent members of the group, when some of the original people have moved away or moved on to other things, or just had a year when they have too much other things going on to do this show.

This year I’m really thrilled to have three great guest artists, two printmakers and one ceramic sculptor.   One of our printmaking guest artists is Linnane Armstrong.  Her linoleum and woodblock prints are cleanly graphic in execution.  I’ll let her tell you in her own words how she arrived at her current body of work:

Linnane in her studio

“With a background in book arts and painting, my transition to relief printmaking began as a practical solution for the creation of artists’ books. After earning my Bachelor of Fine Art degree from Reed College, I moved back to Whidbey Island and found the style of my work evolving with my surroundings, becoming inspired by nature and manmade structures within it. In the beginning of 2010 I embarked on a project to make a small edition of and artists’ book of iconic structures on Whidbey. As I planned the project I considered creating a series of ink and watercolor paintings and having them digitally reproduced to be hand-bound into the books- but this would have removed some of the handmade quality of the book that is so important to me. I had done a little relief printmaking prior to this, and I decided it would be the perfect way for me to hand-print the images for each page. The bold linear style of relief printmaking fit with what I was trying to accomplish- capturing the interaction of structures and their natural surroundings, for what came to be titled as Nature & Structure; Landmarks of Whidbey Island. It includes 12 iconic structures, each printed on white paper (with dark brown ink) as well as on black paper (with silver ink), to show a day/night effect.
“Having been well recieved in several exhibitions, people started asking if any of the images from the book were available on their own as two-dimensional pieces. I began selling limited editions of the images from the Nature & Structure series, as well as creating other linocut pieces with two-dimensional intention. Some of these I began to hand-color using watercolor and gouache, like What the Day Might Bring, a triptych piece that is printed in one color from three blocks, then each print individually watercolored, so each print in the edition is a truly unique piece of art. Others, like Afternoon in the Orchard are just detailed with tiny bits of color in addition to the dark green of the ink- a little hand-applied red for the apples. And some are just monochrome, like Ebey’s Landing and Windswept Madrona.”
Here are a few images of some of Linnane’s work:

Linneane Armstrong "Nature and Structure" all rights reserved

Linnane Armstrong // Ebey's Landing // all rights reserved

Linnane Armstrong // What the Day Might Bring // all rights reserved

Linnane Armstrong // Wind swept Madrona // all rights reserved

I’m going to have another post on Linnane’s work next time, as she sent me some great images of a woodcut in process.

It’s hard to believe that summer is just around the corner, as right at the moment, it is pouring down rain so hard I can hardly hear the clickety clack of the keys.  I hope looking at some good art makes you forget that winter is not letting us go easily.  Either that, or these are those April showers that we hear so much about.

 

About The Froggwellian

As assistant curator at the Froggwell Cultural Institute, It has been my great privilege to curate art shows at the beautiful house and gardens of Froggwell. This blog is to inform out friends and fans of the artists that paricipate in the Froggwell Biennale.
This entry was posted in Individual Artists and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Among our guest artists this year….

  1. Drew Kail says:

    Really beautiful prints. Thanks for introducing me to her work.
    Drew

    • One of the fun things about this blogging thing is making connections with other people interested in the same areas of interest. Portland is not all that far away from Whidbey (just about 35 miles north of Seattle). Might be worth a field trip with your family or some other print maker friends. I belonged to Print Arts NW for a little while, but realized I could neither benefit or contribute effectively from this far away, but I know Portland has a vibrant printmaking community.

      • Drew Kail says:

        I’ve only been up past Seattle once, and I was on amtrack heading toward Vancouver. If my wife and I can schedule a vacation this summer before she starts grad school, that may be the place. I’ve been thinking about joining PAN. They have an emerging printmaker program I’m interested in checking out. I really enjoy your site.
        Drew

      • Sorry it took a while for me to get back to you. I have too much fun being a panda, (on the Panda Chronicles) and as we know, art is work. I had applied to, been accepted and joined PAN. They are a great organization, and I liked the idea of a group you had to jury into. In the long run, however, Portland was a land too far. I hope you can drop in to the show, if it works with your and your wife’s schedule. I’m including a preview of the card in the blog today. Whidbey Island is a lovely place and no time is lovelier than August. Hope it works out. WE’re planning to do print demos through the weekend, as well as stone carving by one of our resident sculptors. Pandas may put in an appearance. you never know with pandas.

  2. Robin says:

    Oh, I like Linnane’s work! I’m excited to see what she’ll have at the show!

  3. Margaret E. says:

    Do I have to wait until August to see more of Linnane’s work? It’s lovely!

    • No indeed! She shows her work at Penn Cove Gallery in Coupeville on Whidbey Island (Linnane…please correct me if this info is not right!) Also, there is a link for her website in the right hand column of the blog, under “artist’s links” (or something like that.) We are really happy to have her showing with us this year. Next week I will post more of a work in progress that she sent me.

What do you think?...No, Really.

